Thank You

I heard from Ed Scott this afternoon that I was not elected to the board (detailed results here).  I have no regrets and I’m glad I went through the process and got to meet and chat with (either in person or virtually) so many USPA members.  I’ve learned a lot about the process and the people involved and it’s been a thought-provoking exercise for sure.  Of course, I wish things had turned out differently, but the results are what they are.

I want to send out a thank you to everyone who voted for me (all 511 of you), supported me, listened to my schtick at various dropzones and other skydiving social events, read my emails and Facebook posts and MySpace posts about the election, and basically made this election cycle a lot of fun regardless of the outcome.

Thank you to those of you who had never voted before who took the time to not only vote for me, but also ask a lot of questions about the process and about what I stood for.

Thanks too, to those of you who thoughtfully considered all of the candidates’ positions and decided not to vote for me.  I’m glad you participated in the process.

Thanks to those of you who voted for me for random reasons (because I’m female, because I live in the same city as you, because you’d jumped with me, etc.).  A vote’s a vote, and I’ll take ’em!

Thanks most of all to my boyfriend for being a great cheerleader and campaign manager and for encouraging me to get out and talk to people at dropzones even when I was running out of steam.

I’m disappointed in the overall voter turnout – as usual, it’s hovering around 10%.  Once again, 90% of  USPA members couldn’t be bothered to step up and vote.  That’s the only part of this whole process that truly saddens me.

I wish the new board all the best and hope that, even though many most of the same players are still there, they can forge new ground and stronger relationships and get beyond some of the political crap that seems to bog down progress.  I’ve seen a few board members in recent years come in and make real progress; let’s hope they can become the voice of the board rather than the politicians.

3 Responses to “Thank You”


  1. 1 David Enete January 9, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    Thank YOU for seeing an opportunity and taking action. Sometimes it takes an army to invoke change and every army needs leaders…especially those who aren’t voted into position, but rather lead naturally from within the ranks of the general membership.

    – David

  2. 2 Doug Staas January 12, 2009 at 1:32 am

    Thanks for running.
    Hope to see you run next time around.

  3. 3 Kipp Chambers January 15, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Krisanne, I’m also disappointed in the overall turnout…as well as how the board wound up being more of the same.

    But mad props to you for going the distance, and for getting so many people involved. I know it was an exhausting process, but I hope you’ll consider running again next time around.

    We could use a voice like yours on the Board.


Leave a Reply

